Executive Board

  • Erdem ErtenPresident

    Erdem Erten teaches architectural design, and architectural history and theory classes, as Professor of the Department of Architecture at Izmir Institute of Technology, Turkey. His research interests include the theorization of culture and its impact on modern architecture and urban design in the post-war period, architectural journalism, the problem of the avant-garde in architecture and romanticism. He is the editor of “Alternative Visions of Post-war Reconstruction: Creating the Modern Townscape” (2015); his work has been published in journals such as The Journal of Architecture, The Design Journal and Planning Perspectives and as book chapters.

  • Emre YıldızVice President

    Received BA degree in Graphic Design Dokuz Eylül University and MA degree in Yasar University Graphic Design Master Programme. Studying Proficiency in Art Programme in Yasar University. Working as lecturer on Yasar University Art and Design Faculty Graphic Design Department, Yıldız focuses on typography, graphic design history and semiotic studies.

  • Bahar EmginTreasurer

    An industrial designer by education, Bahar Emgin completed her PhD in October 2014 in Visual and Cultural Studies at Bilkent University of Ankara. She has joined the teaching staff of Yaşar University’s Department of Visual Communication Design in 2010. She taught studio classes including the graduation project and basic design in addition to the classes on the history and theory of visual communication. Her research interests combine her background in design and interest in cultural studies. Her academic research areas include visual and material culture, design history and design culture

  • Batuhan TaneriSecretary

    PhD candidate at İzmir Institute of Technology (IYTE), Architecture. Research Assistant at the Department of Architecture in IYTE. Graduated from IYTE, B. Arch. (2007) and M.Sc. in Arch. (2013).

  • Derya Irkdaş DoğuBoard member

    Derya Irkdas Dogu holds a PhD from Istanbul Technical University in industrial design education, MA in Product Design from Domus Academy, and BA in Interior Architecture and Environmental Design from Bilkent University. She has been a visiting scholar at the Parsons School of Design | Art & Design History and Theory during the 2016-17 academic year. She is a researcher and full-time lecturer in design history, visualisation techniques for industrial design, conducts undergraduate theses and coordinates the senior year Product Design Studio since 2010. She is also a member of the Design Research Centre (EKOTAM) at the University, where she undertakes design and research projects on co-design, new product development, graphic design and university-industry collaboration. She also sits on the Continuous Education Centre (EKOSEM) board of management.

Former Board Members

  • Tevfik Balcıoğlu President (2014/2018)
  • Gülsüm Baydar Vice President (2014/2015)
  • Şebnem Yücel Board Member (2014/2015), Vice President (2016/2018)
  • Özlem Taşkın Erten Secretary (2014/2015, 2017/2018)
  • Eda Paykoç Secretary (2016)
  • Gökhan Mura Treasurer (2015)
  • Burkay Pasin Treasurer (2016/2018), Board Member (2017)
  • Ömer Durmaz Treasurer (2014, 2018)
  • Metehan Özcan Treasurer (2017), Board Member (2016/2017)
  • Aslı Topal Treasurer (2017), Board Member (2018)
  • Özgen Osman Demirbaş Board Member (2014)
  • Zeynep Arda Board Member (2014)

Founding Members

  • Tevfik Balcıoğlu
  • Gülsüm Baydar
  • Şebnem Yücel
  • Özlem Taşkın Erten
  • Zeynep Arda
  • Özgen Osman Demirbaş
  • Ömer Durmaz
  • Ahenk Yılmaz
  • Öznur Enes
  • S.Bahar Durmaz Drinkwater
  • Zeynep Aktüre
  • Burkay Pasin
  • Meltem Eranıl Demirli
  • Zeynep Tuna Ultav
  • Aybala Yentürk
  • Gökhan Mura
  • F. Dilek Himam Er
  • Ece Söyledir Leite Duarte
  • Arzu Vuruşkan
  • Derya Irkdaş Doğu
  • Seren Borvalı
  • Altuğ Işığan
  • Ayşegül Sabuktay Aktaş
  • A. Can Özcan
  • Aslı Topal